Golden Point Award 2023

The Golden Point Award is Singapore’s premier creative writing competition in the nation’s four official languages: English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil. Established by the National Arts Council in 1993, the national literary writing competition is a significant platform for discovering new writers whose works exhibit literary merit and encourage literary expression in Singapore.


Call for Submissions:
25 April - 23 June 2023
6 pm (SGT)

Awards Ceremony: December 2023

Terms & Conditions of Participation

About Golden Point Award


The competition is open to Singapore Citizens and Permanent Residents who have yet to publish a Solo Work in the specific genre they are competing in. First prize winners of previous editions of GPA are not eligible to participate in the same category in which they had previously won. 

The works can be in any of Singapore's four official languages - English, Chinese, Malay, or Tamil, except for the translation category. Submissions for the translation category must be submitted in English only, translated from either Chinese, Malay, or Tamil only. 



The competition consists of the following categories:

  1. Short Story (English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil)
  2. Poetry (English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil)
  3. Translation: Short Story (English)

There is no age limit and entries may be written on any subject and theme.

Golden Point Award 2023 is organised by Arts House Limited, in partnership with Singapore Book Council and supported by the National Arts Council.

Organised By: In Partnership With: Supported By:
National Arts Council Singapore