Anugerah Persuratan (Malay Literary Award)

The Malay Language Council Singapore (MLCS) is the presenter of the Anugerah Persuratan. MLCS has been organising the Anugerah Persuratan since 1993 as a biennial event and is part of the council’s effort to recognise Malay language writers.

Award Ceremony: 10 Apr 2021
3pm (SGT)


About Anugerah Persuratan

Objectives of Anugerah Persuratan

  1. To recognise writers that have produced high quality literary works;
  2. To develop and encourage writers to produce works in Malay language;
  3. To encourage publication of good literary merit; and
  4. Promote Malay literature and writing in the community.

Awards Presented for Anugerah Persuratan

  1. Tun Seri Lanang Award
    The Tun Seri Lanang Award is presented to an established writer in the Malay Language scene for their contribution to the literary arts. It is the pinnacle award in this event in recognition of their achievements and contributions. The recipient will receive $5,000 cash and a $5,000 research grant.
  2. Anumerta Tun Seri Lanang Award (Posthumous)
    Anumerta Tun Seri Lanang is given to an arts practitioner who has passed away in recognition of their contribution to the arts scene. The family of the posthumous recipient will receive $2,000.
  3. Anugerah Harapan (Promising Award)
    This award is given to writers aged below 40 who have shown prominent potential in the literary arena with significant artistic achievement and contribution. It encourages young practitioners to continue pursuing excellence in the arts, and to look towards inspiring others. The recipient of the award will receive $3,000.
  4. Literary Prizes
    The literary prizes are awarded to writers in different genres such as novel, short story and poetry in recognition of their literary excellence for a piece of work or publication.
Anugerah Persuratan Awards Ceremony 2020/2021
Winners and Books
Organised By: Managed By: Supported By:    
Majlis Bahasa Singapore Book Council National Arts Council Singapore National Heritage Board Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth